Ginetta Super One Rotax Series Round 7: Three Sisters 15th/16th October 2011 For the final round of the 2011 campaign, the series visited the Three Sisters valley circuit near Wigan, a challenging place with a long straight opening up slipstreaming possibilities. There are one or two other passing places but these can be risky. Demonstrating the popularity of the series, the entries stayed high at 164, and required repechage last chance races in both Junior and Senior Max.

MiniMax

Timed qualifying went well for champion elect Ross Gunn but even better for Harry Webb in the second session to beat Gunn's time. Gunn failed to finish a heat, won another to Webb's two so was back on grid 13 for the first final. Wasting little time Gunn vaulted up to the front to head the second place battle although Webb had already disappeared towards a three second victory. But then Gunn was hung out to dry, and ran wide soon after and only two other incidents ahead gifted him with fifth place, enough to seal the ABkC National Championship. Ben Hingeley held off the ever improving Chinese driver Zhou Guan Yu for second, whilst Jack Mitchell fell to ninth and Josh White to sixteenth in the last corner incidents. Gunn decided not to race in the second final, leaving Webb and Hingeley to trade the lead, occasionally split by Zhou. Going into the last lap Webb's last effort to pass Hingeley slowed him enough for Rawson to take advantage with Zhou having to settle for fourth, Mitchell and White recovering for fifth and sixth.

Max 177

David Griffiths could take the the title, but only if he beat Lucas Orrock who is at the top of his game, fastest in qualifying but bested by Tom Holland in the first heat. Situation normal in the second, Orrock the winner and leading off the first final only for Griffiths to sneak ahead. That didn't last long as Orrock swept round the outside at turn one, leaving Griffiths to be increasingly frustrated by Orrock's defence until a spark plug failed, and so did Griffith's title challenge. Colin Davis had been spun round at the start, but clawed back to fifth as Tom Holland, Tom Pyttlik and Andrew Cole all benefited from Griffiths' retirement. Winning from the front comfortably provided Orrock with a successful defence of the title, whilst Griffiths hammered through from the back to third, only Holland and Orrock not passed.

Honda Cadet

Myles Apps, Chris Lulham and Alex Quinn had their moments of glory at the top of the timed qualifying results sheet, but it was situation normal for Jack Young as he won both heats. Not so for Luke Wooder who was excluded from the second heat and would start last for the first final where Young, Jack McCarthy and Kyle Petricca broke away at the front. Kiern Jewiss joined the group, Young went back to fifth, but clawed his way back to win over McCarthy whilst Wooder stormed through for a last lap fourth behind Jewiss. This was enough for Young to take the title and best Rookie, so he decided not to race again. In the second final Jewis, McCarthy, Kyle Petricca all led, but in the end it was the wily Wooder who won over Ben Thompson, Jewiss and a recovering Wieteska, Wooder missing the runner-up spot from Thompson by a single point.

Junior Max

Rob Holland pipped Jack Barlow by a tiny margin in timed qualifying then Barlow and James Singleton took two heat wins each but the latter drifted back in the first final. Barlow had opened a gap at the front which was rapidly eroded by Sam Marsh, Barlow offering little resistance at the ensuing turn one pass with a no risk strategy winning the 2011 ABkC National title and not needing to race again. Nathan Harrison knifed through Levi Coombs and Oliver Myers – who later swapped places – and finished a lonely third. A major mid-grid first corner pile up claimed Singleton and Coombs amid the carnage in the second final, whilst Harrison and Rob Holland traded the lead. Once Harrison had shaken off his pursuers Holland succumbed to Marsh at turn one but managed to hold off Myes and Charlie Streather.

Rotax Senior Max

An already crowned Ed Brand sat out the final round so it was Ash Hand who topped TQ, and Sean Babington, Andy King and Ross Wylie who took the heats. John Stewart initially led the first final lead from King until Babington carved his way through from his grid 7 start with plenty overtaking. Once in the lead he was able to keep King, Stewart, Wylie and Hand at bay. In the second final Babington had the speed to resist any slipstreaming overtakes for a second win, and this time it was Jack Marshall on the move as he leapfrogged from sixth to second, finally demoting King with Hand and Stewartstill in touch.

Results

MiniMax

Final 1

1 Harry Webb (Tonykart); 2 Ben Hingeley (Tonykart); 3 Zhou Guan Yu (Tonykart); 4 Philip Rawson (Tonykart); 5 Ross Gunn (Tonykart); 6 Samuel Oram-Jones (Tonykart). Final 2

1 Hingeley; 2 Rawson; 3 Webb; 4 Zhou; 5 Jack Mitchell (Tonykart); 6 White. Final provisional championship standings: Ross Gunn 560; Jack Mitchell 540; Harry Webb 538; Ben Hingeley 533; Josh White 522

Max 177

Final 1

1 Lucas Orrock (Kosmic); 2 Tom Holland (Alonso) +01.58s; 3 Tom Pyttlik (Alonso); 4 Andrew Cole (GMS); 5 Colin Davis (Tonykart); 6 Danny Andrew (Gillard). Final 2

1 Orrock; 2 Holland; 3 David Griffiths (GMS); 4 Pyttlik; 5 Davis; 6 Andrew. Final provisional championship standings: Lucas Orrock 588; David Griffiths 562; Tom Pyttlik 536; Colin Davis 533; Tom Holland 526

Honda Cadet

Final 1

1 Jack Young (Project One); 2 Jack McCarthy (Project One); 3 Kiern Jewiss (Project One); 4 Luke Wooder (Project One); 5 Ben Thompson (Project One); 6 Ethan Andrews (Project One).

Final 2

1 Wooder; 2 Thompson; 3 Jewiss; 4 Max Wieteska (Zip); 5 McCarthy; 6 Prentice. Final provisional championship standings: Jack Young 566; Ben Thompson 550; Luke Wooder 549; Jack McCarthy 534; Kyle Petricca 527

Junior Max

Final 1

1 Sam Marsh (Tonykart); 2 Jack Barlow (Tonykart); 3 Nathan Harrison (Tonykart); 4 Levi Coombs (Tonykart); 5 Oliver Myers (Tonykart); 6 Callum Pointon (Tonykart). Final 2

1 Harrison; 2 Marsh; 3 Rob Holland (Tonykart); 4 Myers; 5 Charlie Streather (Kosmic); 6 Raoul Hyman (Alonso).

Final provisional championship standings: Jack Barlow 584; Nathan Harrison 580; Levi Coombs 499; James Singleton 480; Rob Holland 466

Rotax Max

Final 1

1 Sean Babington (Alonso); 2 Andy King (Tonykart); 3 John Stewart (Tonykart); 4 Ross Wylie (FA Kart); 5 Ash Hand (Tonykart); 6 Jack Marshall (Tonykart).

Final 2

1 Babington; 2 Marshall; 3 King; 4 Hand; 5 Stewart; 6 Wylie.

Final provisional championship standings: Edward Brand 586; Sean Babington 545; Andy King 531; Jack Marshall 526; John Stewart 520